Dakota Ojibway Tribal Council

Copyright 2010. DOTC.

The stated objectives of the corporation were:

1. To promote throughout Manitoba and elsewhere the interests and welfare of Indian people and to preserve and perpetuate the associations, status, traditions, culture and unity of Indian people;

2. To promote community programs, aid and services to the Indian people in Manitoba;
3. To negotiate with and contract with any or all levels of government in Canada for programs, services, subsidies and grants to Indian people; the administration which is under direction of an Indian Band Council;

4. To engage personnel necessary to carry out the said objectives;

5. To buy, lease, hold and build, develop or improve lands and buildings and chattels necessary for the carrying-out of said objectives;

6. To establish, undertake, superintend, administer or contribute to any charitable or benevolent fund from which may be made donations or advances to Indians;

7. To do all such things as are incidental or conducive to the attainment of the above objectives; and

8. In the event that the association should at any time be wound up or dissolved, the remaining assets after paymentof all debts and expenses shall be divided equally among Sandy Bay, Roseau River, Swan Lake, Long Plain Band, Dakota Plains Band, Dakota Tipi Band, Sioux Valley Band, Birdtail Sioux Band, Valley River Band, and Oak Lake Band.

Until March 31, 2012, DOTC consisted of nine member First Nations:
      1. Birdtail Sioux First Natoin
      2. Canupawakpa Dakota Nation
      3. Long Plain First Nation
      4. Dakota Plains First Nation
      5. Roseau River Anishinabe First Nation
      6. Sandy Bay Ojibway First Nation
      7. Sioux Valley Dakota Nation
      8. Swan Lake First Nation
      9. Waywayseecapp First Nation

Effective April 2, 2012, there has been a change in the composition of membership of the Dakota Ojibway Tribal Council. Three member First Nations; Canupawakpa, Dakota Plains, and Sioux Valley have withdrawn as members of the Tribal Council. Membership now consists of six member Nations (Birdtail Sioux, Long Plain, Roseau River, Sandy Bay, Swan Lake, and Waywayseecappo). The combined total population of these six First Nations is estimated at approximately 15,000+ members.