Tribal Councils in Canada - Tribal Groupings have always existed since time immemorial; - First Nations have always recoginzed strength in unity and the value of working collaboratively; - INAC began to partially fund Tribal Councils in 1984 as part of the INAC devolution process; - With some funding available, more First Nations formed Tribal Councils; - Tribal Councils recieve their mandate from their member First Nations; - As an institution, Tribal Councils respect the historical, geographical and cultural diversity of First Nations; - Tribal Councils have become the primary point of contact with First Nations for governments, corporations,    organizations and individuals; and - Many attempts have been make to increase Tribal Councill funding since inception. History of Dakota Ojibway Tribal Council Dakota Ojibway Tribal Council was established in Brandon, Manitoba in August 1974, which essentially involved the South West Region of Manitoba Indian Brotherhood. The Original purpose and intent of DOTC was to take over the delivery of programs from the Brandon District Office of INAC. Dakota Ojibway Tribal Council adopted the following objective: “To facilitate the development of Reserve Government at the pace decided upon by each member Reserve; by making sure there is total participation in direction of obtaining adequate funds in accordance to the needs of member Reserves; assisting in transferring authority, responsibility of activities to the comunities; providing a vehicle by which the communities assist each other in all aspects of Reserve development; assisting in the creation of a method of operation acceptable to the members of the Tribal Council which is consistent with the responsibility and obligations of the Government of Canada”. In 1974 the initial Administrative Unit of the DOTC comprised of one receptionist, one executive secretary, two government advisors and one technical services personnel. Since 2002, the DOTC Administrative Unit consisted of one Chief Executive Officer, one Director of Finance, three fianance clerks, one executive assistant and two executive secretaries. As of August 2009, the position of Director of Operations was reinstated. DOTC is the predecessor of all existing Tribal Councils in Canada. The minutes and incorporation documents identify 10 First Nations at the founding meeting: 1. Sandy Bay First Nation 2. Roseau River Anishnabe First Nation 3. Swan Lake First Nation 4. Long Plain First Nation 5. Dakota Plains First Nation 6. Sioux Valley Dakota Nation 7. Birdtail SIoux First Nation 8. Dakota Tipi First Nation 9. Valley River Fisrt Nation (Tootinaowaziibeeng) 10. Oak Lake Sioux First Nation (Canupawakpa Dakota Nation DOTC was formally incorporated with a letter of patent from the Province of Manitoba on August 18, 1974. The persons listed as applying for a charter constituting them as corporation were: - Howard Starr, Farmer of Marius; - Oliver Nelson, Farmer of Dominion City; - Richard Cameron, Labourer, Swan Lake; - Marlene Peters, Housewife, Edwin; - Ernest Smoke, Labourer, Edwin; - Roy Smoke, Labourer, Portage la Prairie; - Frank Mckay, Chief, Griswold; - Jack Kasto, Farmer, Beulah; - Clifford Lynxleg, Farmer, Shortdale
Howard Starr Farmer of Marius
Olver Nelson Farmer of Dominion City
Richard Cameron Lanourer, Swan Lake
Marlene Peters Housewife, Long Plain
Ernest Smoke Labourer, Edwin
Frank Mckay Chief, Griswold
Jack Kasto Farmer of Beulah
Copyright 2017. DOTC