T he stated objectives of the corporation were: 1.   To   promote   throughout   Manitoba   and   elsewhere   the   interests   and   welfare   of   Indian   people and   to preserve and perpetuate the associations, status, traditions, culture and unity of Indian people; 2. To promote community programs, aid and services to the Indian people in Manitoba; 3.   To   negotiate   with   and   contract   with   any   or   all   levels   of   government   in   Canada   for   programs,   services, subsidies   and   grants   to   Indian   people;   the   administration   which   is   under   direction   of   an   Indian   Band Council; 4. To engage personnel necessary to carry out the said objectives; 5.   To   buy,   lease,   hold   and   build,   develop   or   improve   lands   and   buildings   and   chattels   necessary   for   the carrying-out of said objectives; 6.   To   establish,   undertake,   superintend,   administer   or   contribute   to   any   charitable   or   benevolent   fund from which may be made donations or advances to Indians; 7. To do all such things as are incidental or conducive to the attainment of the above objectives; and 8.   In   the   event   that   the   association   should   at   any   time   be   wound   up   or   dissolved,   the   remaining   assets after   paymentof   all   debts   and   expenses   shall   be   divided   equally   among   Sandy   Bay,   Roseau   River,   Swan Lake,   Long   Plain   Band,   Dakota   Plains   Band,   Dakota   Tipi   Band,   Sioux   Valley   Band,   Birdtail   Sioux   Band, Valley River Band, and Oak Lake Band. Until March 31, 2012, DOTC consisted of nine member First Nations: 1. Birdtail Sioux First Nation 2. Canupawakpa Dakota Nation 3. Long Plain First Nation 4. Dakota Plains First Nation 5. Roseau River Anishinabe First Nation 6. Sandy Bay Ojibway First Nation 7. Sioux Valley Dakota Nation 8. Swan Lake First Nation 9. Waywayseecapp First Nation Effective   April   2,   2012,   there   has   been   a   change   in   the   composition   of   membership   of   the   Dakota Ojibway   Tribal   Council.   Three   member   First   Nations;   Canupawakpa,   Dakota   Plains,   and   Sioux   Valley have   withdrawn   as   members   of   the   Tribal   Council.   Membership   now   consists   of   seven   member   Nations (Birdtail   Sioux,   Dakota   Tipi,   Long   Plain,   Roseau   River,   Sandy   Bay,   Swan   Lake,   and   Waywayseecappo).   The combined total population of these six First Nations is estimated at approximately 15,000+ members.
Copyright 2017. DOTC